In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

In Cold Blood : ★★★☆☆

Truman Capote describes this book as a non-fiction because this is a detailed documentary about a murder taking place in Kansas city in 1959. I like how the author transforms a bunch of interview’s questions and answers and make a novel out of it based on facts. I expected a lot from this book since it has big ratings and one of the popular classics out there. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Let me explain why before you jump at me. Circumstance and the feelings I have while I read this book played a big role in my rating. I was in Alabama, a nowhere place 35-40 degrees celsius and this place was a bad memory for me and as well for my best friend. We are not going to discuss the details why it was such a bad memory but just keep it in mind. I didnt have the greatest experience when I read it. 

The writing is perfect, Capote succeeds in making us sympathize for the murderers, he describes the event from their perspectives ( their dreams, their goals in life ,etc).  In Cold Blood also raises awareness about the mental illness issues while comitting crimes. Whether we are in control or not, who to blame?  The author also succeeds to keep the suspense until the end. You never know what is the murder scene looks like or how the victims died all you know is that it was a big massacre. And in my opinion, these are the best aspects  of this book. 

Honestly, what I didn’t like about the book is that overall, it was a little  dry and slow. It was told in such a detachable manner that it looses the fear-gruesome effect. Of course, it was purposely telling this way due to the fact that it was supposed to be a non-fiction, documentary type. I just didn’t like this side of the novel.

Interested in the book? Get yourself a copy of In Cold Blood through this hyperlink !

So, what do you think about the book ? Let me know in the comments section!

Capote (2005) movie trailer for those interested in the author’s journey while writing this novel.

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AM

6 thoughts on “In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

  1. derrickjknight says:

    I liked your review, Trang, and sympathise with much of it. I think the narrative had to focus more on the psychology than the suspense, because the true outcome was so well known. We are all affected by our own lives and moods at the time of reading a book or viewing a film. I thought Philip Seymour Hoffman was excellent in the film.

    Liked by 1 person

    • transhaan says:

      Yes you’re right ! I think the psychology side took over it in this detailed book but I think sometimes it lacks on the emotional side too. Thank you for taking the time to share that with me ! 🙂 And yes I will certanly watch the movie , Philip Seymour’s acting seems promising!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amna says:

    I never heard about the book until now and I have to say, it sound really interesting. Something I can see myself reading. I think it will be a great read out of the genre I usually read from. Thank you for taking the time to review this book and leave me a link on my blog :D.

    Great Review and the movie looks interesting.

    Like

    • transhaan says:

      Hahah yay ! I’m glad that I made you want to read it 🙂 I really wanna know what you think about it after reading it so dont hesitate to tell me all about it after 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

