sad

A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnston

MY RATING : ★★★★★

«And I wonder if I might at last have found a queen for whom I could set the desert on fire.»

fssf

A demon has possessed the most powerful Prince of the Desert. The Prince is killing a wife every night until one day, there’s a woman who has the courage to stop it and survive through the nights. She’s going to discover the secrets behind the Prince’s mystic power s and his motives for murder.

“WHEN THE SKEPTIC SPOKE, IT WAS TO ENCOURAGE NEW THOUGHT. WHEN LO MELKHIIN SPOKE, IT WAS TO OBLITERATE THROUGH FEAR.”

sfs

This book will be compared to The Wrath and The Dawn, and it is still two completely different books. I loved this one as opposed to TWTD (sorry guys haha). I think this retelling did justice to the word “retelling”, it completely transforms the tales with subtle references to the original and it is told BRILLIANTLY. I loved reading the Prince’s section, one of the best out there. The writing is amazingly attractive and appealing and the sentence fluency has a mystical/magical feeling to it.

_sixofcrows2DC9B85CC2B8F1D3C19551F5F8CF5DE60

The characters are full of surprises!  The main female character is such a witty kick-ass, the real representation of a fearless and brave woman. Not one time her name is mentioned and I find that fact actually intriguing ! It keeps it mysterious and sincere. The Prince Lo-Melkhin is charming, the Demon is even better LOL  #rootingforthemvillains.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 1.24.52 AM

Some quotes I love :

“And they did not hunt with spears or arrows, but with their own minds.”

“Power twists men’s minds so easily.They bend toward it like a tree reaches for light and water.”

See you guys 😀

You can purchase the book @Chapters/Indigo ! 

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AMInstagramFacebookGoodreadsTwitter

 

28 thoughts on “A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnston

  1. Fatima @ NoteablePad says:

    Lovely review! I completely agree. I’m reading this at the moment and I’m so amazed. I didn’t like TWatD either, and I subconsciously started reading this one comparing it to the other, but it wouldn’t do any justice to this book if it was compared to anything else. It’s beautifully written. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’m more in the TWATD camp but I completely agree that while this book is often compared to that one, it’s SO different. ATN feels very literary to me – from the languages, the narrative decisions, the characters, etc. It is so much more subtle and does feel very mystical, though for me the plot took waaaay too long to actually pick up and I got a bit bored in the middle. Glad you like it! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

    I’m so glad to hear this one’s better than TWatD! I despised the latter, and was hoping against hope that ATN would finally deliver the well-written retelling I needed. Can’t wait to get my hands on it! 😀

    Like

  4. Jorelene @ Page Chronicles says:

    I just finished the book, and I loved it! I agree that this was a fantastic retelling – it completely entranced me with its writing and story. I actually haven’t read The Wrath and the Dawn yet – I’m planning on reading it soon. I wonder how I’ll feel about The Wrath and the Dawn now since it seems as if people are either a major fan of A Thousand Nights or The Wrath and the Dawn. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

