thinkingending

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

MY RATING : ★★★★

Don’t read the blurb. Hide it. Just ignore it. And completely plunge into this book without knowing what it is about. Let the title tickle your curiosity. This is all you need to know before reading this novel.

I’m Thinking of Ending Things is such a mysterious title.. When I first read it, I thought it was going to be about suicidal thoughts. But Iain Reid did his magic and completely uses those words in every situation possible, so you don’t know what it means until the very end.

IMG_6971 copy

“Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

The pace in this book is very slow (for me) compared to other books I like to read but for the first time, I find this speed perfect for the suspense to build up. The author slowly brings us to know Jake and his girlfriend through conversations about life and reflections about the entire universe (yeah at some point it can become very philosophical haha). I appreciate those conversations because it shows how smart and thoughtful they can be.

And then the pace becomes a little bit faster, with meeting Jake’s Family, who seems to be normal at first but as you get close to them, you discover that his family is quite odd. And so is Jake. And so is his girlfriend.

THE SUSPENSE WAS KILLING ME.suspense

Gawwd, I realize how much I missed those psychological/horror thriller! Iain Reid is an author to look out for ! THE ENDING was the bomb, it didn’t disappoint at all. The only reason why I gave this book a 4 and not a 5, is because the beginning was a little bit useless to the story but the ending was great.

You can pre-order a copy of the book @Indigo by clicking on these hyperlinks !

THANK YOU TO SIMON & SCHUSTER CANADA FOR SENDING US AN ADVANCE COPY FOR REVIEW.

 

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AMInstagramFacebookGoodreadsTwitter

9 thoughts on “I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

  1. jessreadingnook says:

    I was surprised by this book too. I really liked it, especially the ending! I can’t wait for my friends to read it so we can talk about it. Haha…patience…

    Like

Leave a Reply

