Mebeforeyou

Thoughts while reading Me Before You

MY RATING : ★★★★

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

cheesy

After reading the blurb, people usually think that this book is a typical teen novel romance cliché blabla.giphy

Let me stop you right here. It is not typical, the romance doesn’t start with love at first sight. It starts with two people who have completely two different lifestyle, who in fact, hate each other but one sees life in all his glory while the other, he may have everything he wanted, is paralyzed and sees life as the darkest corner. And it certainly not ”teen”. Lou and Will are two adults in their 30’s who experience some real issues from a perspective of modern adults in our society. The romance in this book is deep and complex. 

“I thought, briefly, that I would never feel as intensely connected to the world, to another human being, as I did at that moment.”

lou

I love Lou as a main character ! She has such an unique style and personality. She is struggling in her life while being a little bit awkward, dorky and cute. She also says the most honest truths ever. Her character development is simply one the best I have ever read.

“I hadn’t realized that music could unlock things in you, could transport you to somewhere even the composer hadn’t predicted. It left an imprint in the air around you, as if you carried its remnants with you when you went.”

large

patrick

This guy. Right here. Should be removed from the story LOL no jk, but for real, has anyone felt like Patrick was being a complete jerk ? I feel like the author is pointing us how horrible Patrick is as a boyfriend but somehow Lou still keeps him.

dsad

One of the thing I love the most about this book, it actually speaks to me about my own life. What am I doing with my life?! Such a beautiful message behind this book.

“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.”

And of course, that ending, THAT FRKN ENDING. I had tears when I was realizing what happened and I was happy, I cried of happiness.

I am going to watch the movie this Tuesday 😀 Can’t wait ! Have you seen it ? Have you read the book? 

I also did a read-along with Anette, see our special post here :D

You can purchase the book @Indigo/Chapters !

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AM

InstagramFacebookGoodreadsTwitter

20 thoughts on “Thoughts while reading Me Before You

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    Ahh I loved this 🙂 The story was so much more then the Synopsis suggested and I adore that in books, I dislike books that over promise and make me go in with High expectations only to disappoint. I haven’t seen the movie yet it comes out in a week and a bit where I am ! I can’t wait. The cast is amazing and from the gif’s and interviews I’ve seen so far I think I’m going to like it 😀

    Fantastic review as always! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • transhaan says:

      THANK YOU ❤ I just watched the movie and I gotta admit I LOVED IT :O The soundtrack was amazing too LOL They keep all the important parts and some details are different but overall it makes sense to the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Louise / geniereads says:

    Great review! Yes, this is definitely not a cheesy romance and I agree with you this book also made me think about my life and my future. AND I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE MOVIE, though I still have to wait for a few more weeks because it still haven’t been released here in my country. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Book Wench says:

    I LOVED this book! I have been waiting for the movie for so long and I dragged my husband to the nearest theater that played it for a Thursday night release. So good! I’m so glad Moyes wrote the script as well because the story lost none of its soul and character.
    I also really enjoyed the sequel!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Omg I loved this book SO MUCH! It made me an emotional wreck afterwards but so worth it. It was so impactful and was such an amazing read. Really want to watch the movie sometime, so curious as to how they did it. Great review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • transhaan says:

      Thank you so much for passing by!! 😀 I JUST SAW IT AND OMG MY HEARTT ❤ I didnt expect Neville as Patrick tho HAHA a pleasant surprise :O the cast was just perfect ! – Trang

      Like

  5. sarahschaedler says:

    Great review ❤ I loved this book so much more than I thought I would – so, I guess you're right about the blurb thing 😉 The story is fantastic! It's character-driven and it makes you think 🙂 I also saw the movie and Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin are Louisa and Will come to life ❤ The only thing I didn't like about the movie was that they left out the part about the maze, because I think it would have given Louisa's character a little bit more depth, but besides that it was amazing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

