tell me something real

ARC: Tell Me Something Real by Calla Devlin

MY RATING: ★★★★

This novel completely surprised me in a very good and unexpected way. And somehow relates to me personally too. We follow the Babcok sisters, three beautiful blonde girls with different personalities who are trying to cope with their mother’s growing leukemia.

The whole story is about coping, an important theme that is being dissected in this novel and the reason why I think everyone should read it. Vanessa is the middle child and also the narrator; it gives a childish voice to the story and puts even more emphasis on how children see certain difficult situations. It shows how they cope with it as individuals but also as a group, hence the sister’s dynamism.giphy

Their sister’s hate and love are the most satisfying elements in the plot. Maybe because I have an annoying sister. That’s why I love reading about sister interactions and relate to them LOL (Hiii Therese, I love you though).   

As you continue reading the story, you may think.. okay, this is about 3 sisters who are by their mother’s side waiting to be treated for a cancer.. BUT NOP. It’s so much more than that. I’m not going to spoil anything here but there are so many layers and depth to this novel. You have to read it to experience it. I wouldn’t consider this book as a Young Adult novel, because people will think of The Fault in The Stars by John Green (same pattern, people with cancer, end tragically, same old, same old). Although I love TFIS, and despite the fact that it is told by a child narrative, this book however succeeds in bringing an adult and mature vibe to it . tell me something real_pic

3 words to describe this book.

Uncertainty. Heartbreak. Hopeful.

P.S: This book made me cry a little .. (just a little OKAY). 

You can give it a try and purchase the book here: Chapters/Indigo

Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for sending us an advance copy for review!

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AMInstagramFacebookGoodreadsTwitter

6 thoughts on “ARC: Tell Me Something Real by Calla Devlin

  1. mjeestrella says:

    Okay, two of the people I follow (including you, of course) are recommending this book. My TBR is getting looonger, but oh well, there’s no such thing as too many books lol. Thanks for this! I’m excited to read this book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

