wp-image-1747085284jpg.jpeg

Napoleon’s Last Island | Book Review

MY RATING: ★★

From the author who gave you Schindler’s List, Thomas Keneally has invented a tale of romance with a touch of the past. This is the story of Napoleon’s exile in St Helena Island.

I’d like to begin by saying that I’ve always enjoyed historical fiction because I can learn more about history while enjoying a good story and that is always appreciated.

However, this one was not impressive.

It was dragging and building up too slowly for my taste. Maybe if you are like me,  someone who has zero patience,  you will have a lot of difficult times to finish it.

I felt like padding in an ocean… where I’d never land and would never see the shore. It was that long and boring. The novel is more about the relationship between Betsy and Napoleon. As a normal homeland girl, Betsy doesn’t have the most exciting adventures either so this so called romantic turn of this novel is quite redundant.

I always expect  a great ending from books and this one doesn’t have one. I should’ve stopped reading it when I felt it was not my cup of tea.

THANK YOU TO SIMON & SCHUSTER CANADA FOR SENDING US AN ADVANCE COPY FOR REVIEW!

You can purchase a copy @Chapters/Indigo or @Amazon here! 😀

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 2.26.16 AM

8 thoughts on “Napoleon’s Last Island | Book Review

  1. Zezee says:

    I can relate. I always try to give books a chance because sometimes the story takes a surprising turn later n I get hooked. But I really get annoyed when I plod through it all for a weak ending.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

